I spend a lot of time looking at maps of Pakistan trying to piece together and figure out exactly where all where all of this is happening and how these geographies are related to one another. I love maps and love geography and it has always been a wonder to me how big the world is and how much of it we don’t know. I think about my own travels and wanting to first understand where I sit in the world before going out to see and experience it. I want to know how far it is to the next closest city, how long it takes to get somewhere, and what the best way to travel is. I want to try and understand how these geographies have affected it’s inhabitants. It is amazing to me that even in my own country there are people who are unfamiliar with the very real affects that place has on one’s relationship and experience of the world. This is true everywhere and you don’t need to travel around the world or even around a single country to notice it. Start on your own block. We make decisions based on geography and place all the time. Huge corner lot on a quiet street with a yard and lots of trees? Or small apartment in an old building situated in the middle of town? Depending on which side of the fence you sit on, this might seem like a simple lifestyle choice. But it also will affect how we interact with our neighbors, our community and local businesses, it will determine our relationship to transportation and possibly with our jobs. In turn, it will put us in contact with other people sharing similar experiences or relationships. A small example, but one that can be magnified immensely when looked at in context of larger geographical and cultural relationships.

