Backpacker Magazine - Map Issue

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I will mention it now. I love maps. While I would not classify it as an unhealthy obsession, I would most definitely classify it as an obsession. Needless to say, the May issue of Backpacker Magazine stripped 5 dollars from my wallet and gave me a few hours of really great reading material. Two of my favorite articles in the magazine: The Future of Maps talks with Peter Birch – explorer-in-residence and head of the Geo Division at Google – and 3 other cartographers about the “next revolutions in wilderness mapping”. (Really?! someone’s official -or unofficial – job title is”Explorer-In-Residence”? Sign me up!) Anyway – some interesting thoughts. My other favorite article was My Island My Map: Creating a Custom Map of Bainbridge Island.

